All That Power

Bentley Corbett-Wilson, ’17, Music Education, is President of UMBC’s Student Government Association.

BentleyA friend came up to me last night and asked me, “How’s it going with all that power?” I thought for a second, and I said something along the lines of “You and everyone else who’s a student here are the ones with all that power. I’m just a primary voice for the power.”

I want everyone to know that YOU as students are the ones who can make this campus better. It is your ideas and passions that help drive this campus community, and I want you all to feel comfortable and inspired to use SGA to make those visions become reality. We want to do the work WITH you all, not FOR you.

So far, it has truly been an honor representing the student body, and SGA as an organization has started off the year on an AMAZING note. The SGA retreat was incredibly successful, and full of motivated and empowered student leaders. We welcomed new students to the campus by hosting Bubble Soccer. I had the honor of speaking at the Convocation, and (hopefully) inspired new students to make UMBC their home and pave their own ways to success.

I want to thank everyone who helped this summer to make sure that SGA started off on the right track this 50th anniversary year, and to everyone has shown their support and continued to have faith in me. I’m excited for all that this year has in store for myself, SGA, and UMBC!

Contact the author, Bentley Corbett-Wilson, at bcorbet1@umbc.edu

Leave a Reply

